Tuesday, April 23, 2024

South Africa announce squad for Windies tour


Share post:

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa – Six uncapped players were named in a 19-man South Africa squad for next month’s two-Test series against West Indies, with the governing body  describing the tour as a “massive outing for the Proteas”.

The squad, which will be led for the first time by Dean Elgar, features Prenelan Subrayen, Lizaad Williams Kyle Verreynne, Keegan Petersen, Sarel Erwee and Marco Jansen, as the newcomers.

Temba Bavuma will oversee a 20-man squad for the five-match Twenty20 International series which follows but will be without superstar AB de Villiers or in-form former Test skipper Faf du Plessis.

There were hopes de Villiers, who retired from all forms of cricket three years ago, could strike a deal with CSA to return to the shortest format, with the view of turning out at the T20 World Cup later this year.

However, the governing body said it had wrapped up discussions, with the 37-year-old opting to remain in retirement.

South Africa will depart at month end and take on West Indies in two Tests at the Darren Sammy National Stadium in St Lucia from June 10-22 before travelling to Grenada for the five T20 Internationals from June 26 to July 3.

The tour is South Africa’s first of the Caribbean in 12 years and chief selector Victor Mpitsang said results would be key in both formats.

On their last Test tour of the Caribbean, the Proteas beat West Indies 2-0 in a three-match series.


TEST – Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Sarel Erwee, Bueran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden markram, Wiann Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Prenelan Subrayen, Rassie Van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

T20 – Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klassen, George Linde, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie Van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaiyne Pretorious. (CMC)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Broad Street to be paved over Heroes weekend

The Ministry of Transport and Works, through its contractor Infra Construction Inc., will mill and pave Lower Broad...

Death rates up

Barbados’ population is officially in decline as the number of people dying each year surpasses those being born. That...

CDB boss steps down with ‘immediate effect’

BRIDGETOWN – President of the Barbados-based Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), Dr Hyginus ‘Gene’ Leon, has resigned with “immediate...

St Michael man remanded on 14 charges

A 23-year-old St Michael man was remanded to Dodds Prison after appearing in court to answer 14 charges. Raheem...