Saturday, April 13, 2024

Honours shared in Jim Wedderburn Zone


Share post:

After a competitive day at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex, Christ Church Girls’ School and the boys from St Stephen’s Primary School shared the honours in the James Wedderburn Zone.

On Day two of the Chefette Frosteez National Primary School Athletic Championships (NAPSAC), Christ Church Girls’ School won their division with 255 points, nearly 100 more than their nearest competitors St Stephen’s Primary on 155, while St Matthew’s Primary was two points adrift in third place.

St Stephen’s Primary had lots of support from the stands. (Picture by Kenmore Bynoe)

St Stephen’s won the Boys’ division, as 221 points were enough to see them home. St Christopher Primary placed second with 191, just one point ahead of St Giles Primary.

Aimeree Thompson led the way for Christ Church Girls’ School with her performances in the Under-13 category. The 11-year-old won both the 200 and 400 metres with times of 30.49 seconds and 1 minute 10:10 seconds, respectively. She also got three points in the long jump.

St Lucy’s Primary School’s Ojahria Mayers blew away the Under-7 division to collect 30 points. After winning the 50 metre dash, she also placed first in the standing broad jump and was victorious in the tennis ball throw with a distance of 12.53 metres, a considerable distance ahead of Christ Church Girl’ School’s Sierra Daniel-Kellman, who got 11.76m.

It was in the Under-9 divisions where the speedsters resided. Eight-year-old Ayzize Bourne from Roland Edwards Primary School blitzed the field in the 80, 100 and 150 metre dashes as the closest his competitors got to him was the starting line with times of 12.91 seconds, 16.10 and 24.89, respectively.

Likewise, Anniyah Sandiford from St Matthew’s Primary School was comprehensive in her 80, 100 and 150 metre victories. Both students earned 30 points for their school.

NAPSAC continues today at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex as the Anton Norris Zone gets under way. The schools competing are: Reynold Weekes Primary, Cuthbert Moore Primary School, Hillaby Turners Hall Primary, Welches Primary, All Saints Primary, St Joseph Primary, St John Primary, Grantley Prescod Memorial Primary, Arthur Smith Primary, Deacons Primary and Erdiston Special School.

Final points:


  1. Christ Church Girls School 252
  2. St Stephen’s Primary School 155
  3. St Matthew’s Primary School 153
  4. Roland Edwards Primary School 141
  5. St Christopher Primary 120
  6. St Lucy’s Primary 114
  7. St Giles’ Primary School 88
  8. People’s Cathedral School 44
  9. St Ambrose Primary 42
  10. Ignatius Byer Primary School 10
  11. St Luke’s Academy 6


  1. St Stephen’s Primary School 222
  2. St Christopher Primary 191
  3. St Giles’ Primary 190
  4. St Luke’s Primary 136
  5. Roland Edwards Primary School 128
  6. St Ambrose Primary 88
  7. St Matthews’s Primary School 65
  8. Ignatius Byer Primary School 57
  9. People’s Cathedral School 36
  10. St Luke’s Academy 8


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Data shows Bajan contacting hitman

KINGSTON – Phone data evidence showed that there was continuous communication between Barbadian-born businessman Omar Collymore and the...

Judge: Use dragnets to stop motorcyclists

Institute dragnets and take away their illegal bikes. That, said Justice Carlisle Greaves, is what lawmen should do to...

Biden urged to ban China-made electric vehicles

President Joe Biden has been urged to ban imports of Chinese-made electric cars to the US. The chair of...

Six dead in mass stabbing at Sydney shopping center

Six people have been killed and several others injured, including a nine-month-old baby, in a mass stabbing at...