Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Roett makes biggest splash


Share post:

THE CURTAIN came down on the Zed Surfing Adventures/Cafe Sol Champion Surf Series when the Barbados Surfing Association held its final Surfer of the Year event at Soup Bowl last weekend.
In varying conditions and even in periods of heavy rain, surfers pulled out all the stops in the fifth contest, the points of which will help determine who will be 2010’s top surfers.
And while there were some new faces on the top of the podium, certain surfers capped an impressive year with their fifth straight win on Saturday.
Chelsea Roett was one such surfer.
She took the Under 18’s title, once again, to cement her place at the top of the standings in that division. Chelsea Tuach, who is behind her in the points, was second, while Isabella Venezia was third.
The results were exactly the same for the Open Women’s division, and Roett looks set to claim the title in that division as well.
Meanwhile, Che Allan has added another gold medal to his already extensive collection when he capped a perfect series by winning and dominating the Under 12 Division.
Jordan Heaselgrave was back to his winning ways, taking the Under 21 title, while Dane Mackie, who found himself surfing back to back finals in the Under 16 and Under 21 divisions, was the winner in the Under 16 Boys division.
Another double division winner on the day was Simon Coles who not only copped the top spot in the Senior Men, but in the Masters division as well.
The long board division belonged to Alan Burke who took his third title on Saturday.The battle royale, however, was in the Open Division. With the almost perfect swells in the afternoon pitching up barrels at every turn, Stefan Corbin and Sam Taylor went head to head in a surf off that seemed almost too close to call.However, when the horn sounded it was Corbin who took the top spot from Taylor, while Alan Burke was third and an injured Chris Clarke, who is the points leader, was fourth.Final results: Under 18 Girls – Chelsea Roett; Chelsea Tuach; Isabella Venezia.Under 12 – Che Allan; Evan Moll; Zander Venezia; Andrew Rose.Senior Men – Simon Coles; Chris Clarke; Louis Venezia; Wayne Roett.Long Board – Alan Burke; Akeem Douglas; Wayne Roett; Junior Williams.Masters – Simon Coles; Wayne Roett; Louis Venezia; Gregory Rose.Under 16 Boys – Dane Mackie; Joshua Burke; Danny Edghill; Caelum Blandford.Under 21 Boys – Jordan Heaselgrave; Stefan Corbin; Danny Edghill; Dane Mackie.Open Women – Chelsea Roett; Chelsea Tuach; Isabella Venezia.Open Men – Stefan Corbin; Sam Taylor; Alan Burke; Chris Clarke.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Persistent DLP issues a concern, say political scientists

If the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is to be a viable alternative to the ruling Barbados Labour Party...

‘Grand’ plans routed

Vendors and some residents along Station Hill and Bank Hall, St Michael are not jumping for joy that...

Public schools reopen next week

Public schools will reopen next week for the final school term of the academic year 2023-2024. Term III, also...

Met Office monitoring dust haze

The Barbados Meteorological Services (BMS) is closely monitoring a large plume of dust haze in the eastern Atlantic today. The...