Top honours for five


HE WASN’T selected on any of Barbados’ limited overs or first-class teams over the past year, but BNB St Catherine’s captain Kenroy Williams has been chosen among the Cave Shepherd Five Cricketers Of The Year for his outstanding performance in the 2010 local season.
Williams, who scored 792 runs at an average of 56.57 with three centuries and captured 33 wickets at 23.82 runs, received his award at the Barbados Cricket Association’s Awards ceremony at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on Saturday night.He was joined by ESAF Pickwick’s batsman Kyle Hope, who had the highest aggregate (883 runs, average of 51.94) for the second consecutive Division One season.
UWI’s captain Omar Phillips (761 runs, average 58.54) and his off-spinning teammate Ryan Austin (71 wickets, average 15.01) as well as Guardian General Barbados Youth’s batsman Roston Chase, who scored 705 runs at an average of 58.75 and also bagged 24 wickets with his off-spin at 21 runs apiece, were the other recipients.
Another UWI player, left-handed middle order batsman Raymon Reifer was named the Most Improved Cricketer for his 802 runs at an average of 50.13. His four centuries were the most in the Division One competition, last year.
Kyle Mayers of Barbados Youth was chosen as the Most Improved Cricketer and Harrison College’s Hayley Matthews was named the Most Improved Female Youth Cricketer.
Veteran 42-year-old all-rounder Pamela Lavine was the Most Outstanding women’s cricketer.
The BCA also gave special awards to national captain Ryan Hinds and long-serving left-arm swing bowler Pedro Collins for achieving the most runs (5 232) and wickets (250) respectively in first-class cricket for Barbados.
Other special awards went to volunteers Monica Cumberbatch and Leslie Reifer and new ICC International Panel umpire Gregory Brathwaite. Service awards were given to statistician with BCA website Keith Holder, webmaster Stuart Gittens and scorers John Griffith and Anthea Ishmael.
Aville Carrington, Henderson Davis, Mitchinson “Dick” Lewis and Rollins Howard were recognized with long service awards while long-standing sponsors Sagicor General (36 years), Cave Shepherd (35), LIME (26) and Guardian General (25) headed the list of corporate awardees. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here