Saturday, April 13, 2024

Sir Henry to the fore


Share post:

SENATOR PROFESSOR Emeritus Henry Fraser has been awarded the Knight of St Andrew for his contribution to both medicine and the architectural history of Barbados in the 2014 Independence Awards.

He was among nearly 20 outstanding sons and daughters recognised this year.

Below is the full list of awardees.

Knight of St Andrew (1)

Senator Professor Emeritus Henry Fraser, GCM, BSc (Physiology, London U.) MBBS (UWI), PhD (Pharmacology, London U), FACP, FRCP.

For his outstanding contribution to the medical profession and representation of Barbadian Culture, especially in the form of the architectural history of Barbados.

Gold Crown of Merit (4)

Dr Lawrence Blair Bannister: In recognition of his outstanding contribution to medicine, Barbadian literature and art.

Dr Farley Silvan Brathwaite: For his significant contribution to tertiary education in Barbados.

Mr Bentley DeVere Gibbs: In recognition of his meritorious public service.

Mrs Lucene Yvette Wharton-Isaac: In recognition of her long and distinguished public service.

Silver Crown of Merit (4)

Dr Elizabeth Mary-Rose Ferdinand: In recognition of her dedicated service to the medical profession.

Mr Victor Anthony Fernandes: In recognition of the invaluable contribution made over the last 40 years in the radio and television industry.

Mrs Rosemary Betty Hope-Gittens: For her contribution to the promotion of Barbados in Canada.

Miss Undene Pamelia Whittaker: For her sterling contribution to the community in particular advancing females socially, educationally and financially.

Barbados Service Star (5)

Mrs Euline Geraldine Burrowes: In recognition of her contribution to the nursing profession.

Mr Dennis Leopold Clarke: For his contribution to the development of the Trade Union movement in Barbados.

Mr Jack Martin Albert Hoad: In recognition of the contribution made to sports, in particular, sailing.

Mrs Boneta Phillips: For her invaluable dedication to the community in particular

persons with disabilities.

Mr. William Reginald Tempro: In recognition of the contribution made to sports, in particular, sailing.

Barbados Service Medal (5):

Mr Victor Clifford: For his outstanding dedication to the growth of the theatre arts both in Barbados and the Caribbean.

Mr MacDonald DaCosta Fingall: In recognition of his contribution to education, the development of the youth and the development of the Crop Over Festival particularly as comedian, tent manager, entertainer and calypsonian.

Mrs Kathleen Blossom Harper-Hall: For her outstanding contribution over the last five decades to the development of sport in particular netball.

Mr Andrew Oliver Lokey: For his invaluable contribution to the development of the youth of Barbados in his role as teacher and Choir Director at the St Leonard’s Boys’ School.

Mr Erskine Sinclair Simmons: For over thirty years of outstanding service in the field of sports administration in particular his contribution to the Barbados Olympic Association. (PR/SAT)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Park ‘must go’

The operator of a beach front restaurant at Paynes Bay, St James has been ordered to dismantle a...

Slow going at mobile clinic

It was a slow going on Thursday as the Ministry of Health’s new mobile clinic moved into Rosemont,St...

New route for Grand Kadooment

Masqueraders will be parading on a new route on Grand Kadooment day. That was announced during the Crop Over...

Gastro on the rise while dengue cases drop

Dengue fever cases continue to decline but the numbers are still above the outbreak threshold. In its most recent...