Spencer re-elected as BUT president


Sean Spencer has retained the presidency of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT).

General Secretary Herbert Gittens made this announcement around 10 p.m. on Friday following the annual election.

Spencer won the three-person race with 174 votes, over former President Pedro Shepherd who got 154 and Nathaniel Boyce with 55.

Candacy Griffith was voted in as Treasurer with 207, after defeating Dwane Goddard who received 149.

Elected unopposed were Gittens, vice president Richmark Cave, deputy general secretary Rudy Lovell and public relations officer Julian Pierre.

Executive members Andre Holder, Asha Yearwood, Adrian Blackman, Andrea Puckering, Jacqueline Prescod and Dwayne Greenidge were also re-elected.

The executive will serve for one year. (TG)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here