Friday, April 19, 2024

St Kitts sets voting protocols


Share post:

BASSETERRE, St Kitts – The Supervisor of Elections, Elvin Bailey, says protocols have been developed to safeguard voters against the coronavirus (COVID-19) when they go to cast ballots on June 5 to elect a new government in the twin island Federation.

In a radio and television broadcast on Friday night in which he announced that 48 036 persons are eligible to vote, Bailey said that the protocols had been discussed and accepted by the COVID-19 Task Force and include sanitization, distancing measures, and the wearing of masks.

“Voters will be required to briefly unmask so that their identity can be checked. Also, a cleansing solution will be provided for voters prior to the immersion in the indelible ink. We are urging voters to comply so that the voting process can flow smoothly and expeditiously,” he said.

He said voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time) and that voters will be asked not to take their cell phones/cameras into the voting area.

“In fact, a container will be provided in which the voter will be asked to deposit their phones. Please bring picture identification with you, particularly your National Identification Card. However, if you do not have your valid card for whatever reason, you can still vote upon presentation of either a valid local passport, valid local social security card or valid local driver’s license.

“If none of these are available, the elector will be required to take an oath of identity in order to vote. I need to emphasise that voting is not complete until the appropriate finger is dipped in the ink to the satisfaction of the Presiding Officer,” the Supervisor of Elections added.

He said that 17 candidates representing the People’s Labour Party (PLP) of Prime Minister Dr Timothy Harris and the People’s Action Movement (PAM) and the St Kitts-Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) headed by former prime minister Dr Denzil Douglas will contest the eight seats on St Kitts. There is one independent candidate.

In addition, the three seats on Nevis will be contested by six candidates representing the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) and the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP). The CCM and PAM are members of the Harris-led Team Unity administration.

The Supervisor of Election said that the 35 860 voters in St Kitts and 12 176 in Nevis, will cast their ballots at 129 polling stations on the Federation. (CMC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

WIPA commends Hayley Matthews for historic win as Wisden’s Leading T20 Cricketer in the World

The West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) proudly commends West Indies Women’s captain Hayley Matthews for being designated Wisden's...

Abrahams: Be Prepared

Barbadians have been urged to be as prepared as possible as the country braces for an active Atlantic...

BWA Continues Mains Replacement in St. Thomas 

The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) advises that work to replace themains in Bridgefield, St. Thomas is still in...

Police seeking information on Pinelands shooting

The Barbados Police Service (TBPS) is seeking the General Public’s assistance with information relative to a shooting incident,...