Sunday, April 21, 2024

Pacers on track


Share post:

Pacers Track Club 4×400 metres relay teams sent spectators home with a feeling of satisfaction and hope when they closed out the 2010 City of Bridgetown National Track and Field Championships on a high note on Sunday night. In the last home meet, coach Anthony “Palance” Williams had an embarrassment of riches with the return of overseas-based athletes, and rather than run his Penn Relays bomb squad as a unit, he split it in half, making two very competitive sides.Pacers “A” consisted of Nicholas Deshong, Shane Brathwaite, Ronson Small and Anthonio Mascoll; Pacers “B” were Debarge Carrington, Christopher Davis, Roderick Best and Ryan King and they also fielded a “C” team.There was no Rising Stars nor Quantum Leap, but who needed them with this line-up.The race was even on the first two legs, especially with chaser Davis keeping Brathwaite close. However, it was Small who effected the separation, pulling away from Best to open up a five-metre lead. Mascoll extended that to about 20 as he crossed the line in 3 minutes 15.10 seconds. King, who is slightly injured and can’t drive, ran back at the close but had to settle for second in 3:18.07. Wibisco Stars were third in 3:21.16 and Pacers C brought up the rear with a commendable 3:39.70.Won triple jumpSmall also won the men’s triple jump with a best leap of 15.05 metres.Pacers also won the 4×100 metres relays, with Deshong holding off Wibisco Stars’ 200m champion Rico Tull in 40.94 seconds. Tull’s team was second in 41.22 and Quantum leap third in 41.77.The Under-17 national relay team of Akela Taylor, Akela Jones, Shakera Hall and Shavonne Husbands won the women’s race in 47.66. Ariel Jackson brought Freedom Striders home in second place in 49.96 seconds.In the other track events, Cindy Forde of Freedom Striders pulled away from Parkinson’s Sonia Gaskin to win the women’s 800 metres in 2:16.36, Gaskin second in 2:19.26 and Dominica’s Kaysanda Alexander took bronze in 2:32.41.The bright orange shoes of Christian Rock shone in the gloom of the night, pounding the track as he raced for home to win the men’s 800 metres in 1:57.46, followed by Dominica’s Mac Nerquim Saureas (2:01.75) and Pacers’ Justin Blackman in 2:09.52. Neither Mascoll nor Jerrad Mason faced the starter in that event.Jerome Blackett of the Barbados Defence Force won the men’s 5000 metres in 17:01.54. Shamar Maynard got the better of his twin brother Shamel, with a time of 18:10.18, almost two seconds faster to finish second.Justin Cummins won the men’s javelin for the second straight year with 68.04 metres, followed by André Bazil of Dominica with 6127 and John Jones of Elite Distance with 60.39.Elite Distance’s Nicoliai Bovelle set a new Under-17 boys’ record of 55.94m in the javelin, erasing the 54.21 set by Daneal Marshall three years ago. Teammate Janeil Craigg was second with 50.89 and Antonio Waldron of Princess Margaret third with 49.58.Leah Bannister of Elite Distance won the women’s discus with 44.35 metres.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Update: Flash Flood Warning in effect for central districts

The Barbados Meteorological Services (BMS) has expanded its Flash Flood Warning to include the central part of the...

Flash Flood Warning in effect for northwestern districts

The Barbados Meteorological Services (BMS) has issued a Flash Flood Warning for the northern districts of Barbados, effective...

Dust haze advisory remains in effect for Barbados

The Barbados Meteorological Services (BMS) urges residents to be aware of an ongoing significant dust haze advisory. A...

Public cautioned against fake social media posts about President

Members of the public are being cautioned against participating in any schemes claiming to be in the name...