Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Broken Trident moves to St John in June

Date:

Share post:

THE COMMEMORATIVE Broken Trident will journey to St John in June, with stops at several schools, churches and tourist attractions in that parish.

Tomorrow, Wednesday, June 1, the symbolic Broken Trident will be handed over in a ceremony at St John Parish Church at 10:30 a.m. The next day, Thursday, June 2, it will be on display at St John’s Primary School from 9 a.m. to noon, and at St Margaret’s Primary on Friday, June 3, from 9:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Mount Tabor Primary School will play host to the Broken Trident on Tuesday, June 7, from 9 a.m., as will the Codrington International School, at Society, on Thursday, June 9. The Lodge School will welcome the symbolic Broken Trident on Monday, June 13, between 7:30 and 10 a.m.

On Monday, June 6, persons visiting the David Thompson Health and Social Services Complex will view the Broken Trident, while on Saturday, June 11, it will be on display during a Commemorative Service at the historic Codrington College from 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Visitors to the Bay Tavern at Martin’s Bay on Thursday, June 16, will have the added attraction of the Broken Trident from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Churches in St John will also play host to the commemorative Broken Trident.  The Messiah House Wesleyan Holiness Church will receive the Trident on Sunday, June 5, from 9:30 a.m., while Our Lady of the Rosary Roman Catholic Church, Verdun, will have its turn on Sunday, June 12, from 8:30 a.m. The Trident will be on display at St John Parish Church and Mount Tabor Moravian Church on Sunday, June 19.

The movement of the Broken Trident in St John will end on Monday, June 27, when it will be on display at St John’s Post Office from 9 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Since January, the commemorative Broken Trident has travelled to St. George, St. Thomas, St. Peter, Christ Church and St. James. It will traverse all 11 parishes before it is permanently housed in a monument to be erected at the Garrison Savannah. (BGIS)

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Russian deputy defence minister Timur Ivanov accused of taking bribes

A Russian deputy defence minister has been accused of taking bribes and remanded in custody by a court...

Chief Magistrate a stickler for use of proper English

Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes is not impressed by parents who give their children choices from young and who...

Drax Hall land pause

Government has rolled back a decision to acquire 50 acres of land in St George which was...

Port of Spain General Hospital NICU baby death toll jumps to 18

Port of Spain - Two weeks after the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) announced that seven babies...