Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Top honours for four


Share post:

For the first time, two of Barbados’ musical icons have been conferred with Barbados’ highest national honours, which have also been awarded to two others.

Veteran entertainers Anthony “Mighty Gabby” Carter and Charles Emil Straker were yesterday named in the Independence Honours list, with Carter being one of the three recipients of the first Order Of Freedom Of Barbados, now the highest national honour along with the long-established knighthood to which it is an alternative.

The award is given for extraordinary service to Barbados, the Caribbean diaspora or to humanity at large. nana-akufo-addo

Straker received the Knight Of St Andrew for being the creative force in the establishment and the development of the internationally renowned band the Merrymen and its unique genre of music.

Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of the West Indies, Professor Eudine Barriteau was the third person conferred with the first Order Of Freedom of Barbados, while President of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (right), who paid an official visit to Barbados in June, received an honorary Order Of Freedom Of Barbados. (MB)

Other honorees:

Companion of Honour (For distinguished national achievement and merit.)

Lolita Janet Applewhaite: For her outstanding contribution to public service in Barbados and to diplomacy and development through high-level representation in the region and the Commonwealth.

Rawle Cyprian Eastmond, JP: For his service in politics, contribution to parliamentary debate and literature.

Theodore David Gittens, QC, JP: For his outstanding work in the legal profession and public service.


Gold Crown of Merit (For highly meritorious service or achievement in science, the arts, literature, sports, civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition.

Dr Beverley Rose Miller: For her contribution to Public Health in Barbados and the region.

Anthony Theophilus Nicholls: For his contribution to farming and agriculture.

Pierce Antonio Rudder: For his contribution to music and the development of culture.

Steven Roger Stoute, SCM: For his service in the development of sports and sports administration.


Silver Crown of Merit (For meritorious service or achievement in science, the arts, literature, sports, civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition.)

McClaren Holder, BCH, JP: For his contribution to the construction industry and service to the community as a member of the Lions Club International.

John Henderson Hallam King: For his contribution to education and the criminal justice system.

Grace Paulina Pilgrim, BSS: For her contribution to the teaching profession.

Dr Nigel Leon Taylor: For his outstanding service to the Barbados Boys Scouts Association and the Barbados Evangelical Association.


Barbados Service Star (For meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective services or any other similar field of endeavour.)

Edmund Dacosta Blades: For his service to Public Health as a microbiologist and in particular his contribution to research into the Sahara dust.

John Eustace Derrick Goddard: For his contribution to the trade union movement and the teaching service.

Major Denzil Sylvester Walcott, JP: For his contribution to education, training and the Salvation Army.

Patricia Pauline Wickham: For her contribution to Public Health, Nursing and the Barbados Nurses Association.

Shirlene Hazita Yearwood: For her committed service and dedication in the Registration Department and assignments in the Supreme Court of Barbados.


Barbados Service Medal (For meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective.)

Gloria Elaine Alleyne: For her steadfast contribution as a community worker.

Nigel Patterson Bayley: For his work in the tourism sector in particular tours of the island.

Simeon Francis Belgrave, JP: For his dedicated and active service in the community and pastoral work with parishioners for over half a century.

Leroy Lorenzo Morgan: For his dedicated service in the households of four Prime Ministers.

Peggy Jeanette Niles: For her community service and in particular her special work with children.


Barbados Bravery Medal (For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.)

Jeron Oneal Goddard: For his heroic efforts in rescuing a teenager from 100ft well.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Russian deputy defence minister Timur Ivanov accused of taking bribes

A Russian deputy defence minister has been accused of taking bribes and remanded in custody by a court...

Chief Magistrate a stickler for use of proper English

Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes is not impressed by parents who give their children choices from young and who...

Drax Hall land pause

Government has rolled back a decision to acquire 50 acres of land in St George which was...

Port of Spain General Hospital NICU baby death toll jumps to 18

Port of Spain - Two weeks after the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) announced that seven babies...